What the Heck is Body Confidence

Body confidence is a tricky thing. Anyone can have issues with confidence, doesn’t matter how much fat is on your body. Girls who look are tall, blonde and skinny have body confidence issues, girls with thicker thighs and a larger stomach have body confidence issues. But there are girls who don’t have these issues.

Personally, I hate my body. I am going to be completely real with you. I really, really hate my body. When I get asked the “if you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?” I always say my body shape.

While my weight is not bad, I am not considered overweight (apparently I’m average for my height and age), it has been something I have struggled with for years and years. Being a long term athlete,  I have been around a lot of body types. From swimmers to track runners and dancers, it has been really hard to not compare myself to those around me.

I have tried almost everything. Vegetarian, Paleo, Intermittent Fasting, just to name a few. I’ve almost been pulled in by companies promising to help me lose weight (sometimes 20 lbs) in a “too good to be true” time frame. While I haven’t actually tried these types of services yet, I have been really, really close.

Over the summer I worked so hard to loose weight, and was able to loose 15 lbs. However, because of the food at my university and not working out every day, I have already gained a good amount of that weight back which is incredibly frustruating, and on many days, down right depressing as it makes me feel like a failure. Of course, I have a new goal set for myself for the fall semester and I am going to work super hard to accomplish that goal.

The interesting this is, if I saw someone who had the exact same body as I did, I would never think these things. If they wore a cute pair of shorts and a crop top I would say they look amazing. But when I wear shorts, I fixate on my strech marks, the places where my tanning lotion is too dark, or how fat my legs look when I sit down. If I were to wear a crop top, which I never do, I would be constantly pulling at it to cover as much skin as possible. I look at other people with rose colored glasses in the best way possible. I love seeing other people who are confident in what they wear, but I’ve convinced myself that body confidence just isn’t for me and it’s not something that applies to me.

This post was inspired by so many bloggers and Youtubers, specifically Carrie Dayton, who have been open about body confidence and body confidence issues that they struggle with, so I decided to do an additional post in my Let’s Get Personal series. I am a very open person so sharing this on the internet isn’t a huge issue for me, but I know this isn’t easy to talk about for everyone. And even if it is an issue for you to talk about, know that you are an amazing person and no matter what size you are and what size you see yourself, dress how you want to. Also, women’s clothing sizes are bullshit and your confidence and happiness is not based on a little number.

Leave a comment